Ireland U21s face San Marino a...


Ireland U21s face San Marino at the Cross

RedFM News
RedFM News

11:23 12 Sep 2023

Share this article

The Republic of Ireland under 21s are back in action at Turner's Cross this evening.

The Boys in Green face San Marino in their European Championship Qualifier.

Jim Crawford's side go into the game on the back of the win over Türkiye at the Cross on Friday.

Sinclair Armstrong returns to the squad - The QPR striker featured for the senior side against Netherlands.

Conor Carty returns after illness, while Sean Roughan misses out after being sent off for his celebrations after Friday's late winner.

Head Coach Jim Crawford said: “It’s a different type of game to Friday, where Türkiye will give anyone in the group a run for their money. San Marino are going to come and defend deep, put bodies behind the ball but it’s up to us to break them down. For me it’s about us getting the three points – that’s first and foremost.”

Ireland Under-21 defender Bosun Lawal said: “Even before the game on Friday there was confidence in the group. When you look at the game against Iceland, we went down to 10-men and we fought back to get the win. We always feel we have that fight in us and on Friday we showed what we are about as a team.”
Elsewhere in the Group, Norway host Latvia and Turkey meet Italy.

Republic of Ireland Under-21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Killian Cahill (Brighton & Hove Albion), Josh Keeley (Tottenham Hotspur), Owen Mason (Wexford, on loan from Mansfield Town)

Defenders: James Abankwah (Charlton Athletic, on loan from Udinese), Sam Curtis (St. Patrick’s Athletic), James Furlong (Hull City), Anselmo Garcia MacNulty (PEC Zwolle), Sean Grehan (Crystal Palace), Bosun Lawal (Fleetwood Town, on loan from Celtic) Midfielders: Baba Adeeko (Wigan Athletic), Zak Gilsenan (Blackburn Rovers), Matt Healy (Royal Francs Borains), Ed McJannet (Lecce), Adam Murphy (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Killian Phillips (Wycombe Wanderers, on loan from Crystal Palace), Rocco Vata (Celtic) Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (Queen’s Park Rangers), Conor Carty (St. Patrick's Athletic, on loan from Bolton Wanderers), Aidomo Emakhu (Millwall), Johnny Kenny (Shamrock Rovers, on loan from Celtic), Andrew Moran (Blackburn Rovers, on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), Tony Springett (Norwich City)

Share this article

You might like