Three hurling All Star nominat...


Three hurling All Star nominations for Cork

RedFM Sport
RedFM Sport

07:22 8 Sep 2022

Share this article

Three Cork players have been nominated for The PWC Hurling All Stars - Ciaran Joyce of Castlemartyr, Charleville’s Darragh Fitzgibbon and Robbie O’Flynn of Erin’s Own.

Joyce has also been nominated for the young hurler of the year, alongside Mikey Butler and Eoin Cody of Kilkenny

All Ireland champions Limerick lead the way with 12 All Star nominations. Limerick's Diarmaid Byrnes and Barry Nash and Kilkenny's TJ Reid have been shortlisted for HOTY.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “Today is a special moment for the 45 hurlers who have been successfully shortlisted for a PwC All-Star in 2022 and an achievement that will be proudly shared by their families and clubs.
“Seeing people back in person at matches this year added to the excitement and as always, our hurling competitions rose to the occasion with no shortage of highlights to illuminate the season.
“To be recognised for your contribution to those great games is something special as we salute the best of the best from the season, and I also want to congratulate TJ, Diarmaid and Barry for their additional honour in being nominated as PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year and to Mikey, Ciarán and Eoin nominated for PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year.”

Tom Parsons, GPA CEO, added: “Congratulations to each and every player who contributed to such a memorable year for hurling. As Limerick made their own piece of history, completing a three-in-a-row, many players put in performances which made them worthy to be considered for PwC All-Stars.

“To the 45 players who have made the shortlist, well done. It is only right that your individual performances are being recognised with these nominations.

“To our PwC Hurler of the Year and PwC Young Hurler of the Year nominees a special word of congratulations too, and to PwC, thank you for your ongoing support for inter-county players.”

Feargal O’Rourke, Managing Partner, PwC, said: “From everyone at PwC, I would like to extend sincere congratulations to the 45 hurlers announced as PwC All-Star nominees and also to those shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year. You each displayed outstanding individual and team performances in yet another exhilarating championship. These nominations recognise your talent and commitment and are thoroughly deserved.”

Dating back to 1971, the All-Stars are selected by a team of GAA journalists from across print, radio, digital, tv and broadcast media. There will be two additional hurling selections honoured to cover outstanding players in the Joe McDonagh Cup and a Champion 15 from across the Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cup campaigns.
The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28 shown live on RTE tv. The hurling team will be announced live on the night with the football team being released publicly 24 hours earlier.

PwC All-Stars Hurling Nominations 2022


Éanna Murphy (Galway)
Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)
Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Seán Finn (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)
Mike Casey (Limerick)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Declan Hannon (Limerick)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)
Richie Reid (Kilkenny)
Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)
Paul Flanagan (Clare)
John Conlon (Clare)
Diarmuid Ryan (Clare)
David McInerney (Clare)
Daithí Burke (Galway)
Fintan Burke (Galway)
Pádraic Mannion (Galway)
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Damien Reck (Wexford)

David Fitzgerald Clare)
Ryan Taylor (Clare)
Tom Monaghan (Galway)
Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)
William O’Donoghue (Limerick)
Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)

Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)
Kyle Hayes (Limerick)
Tom Morrissey (Limerick)
Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
Séamus Flanagan (Limerick)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
Conor Whelan (Galway)
Cathal Mannion (Galway)
Joseph Cooney (Galway)
Tony Kelly (Clare)
Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
Robbie O’Flynn (Cork)
Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford)
Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
Lee Chin (Wexford)
Dónal Burke (Dublin)
Killian Doyle (Westmeath)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny

Share this article

Read more about

All-Stars Cork Hurling

You might like