Five MEP's elected for Ireland...


Five MEP's elected for Ireland South as counting finishes.

Jamie O'Hara
Jamie O'Hara

07:38 14 Jun 2024

Share this article

Cynthia Ní Mhurchú, Michael McNamara and Kathleen Funchion are celebrating being elected as the MEPs for Ireland South.

They will join Seán Kelly who was elected on Monday and Billy Kelleher in Brussels next month.

Current MEP Mick Wallace has lost his seat after finishing in 6th.

Fianna Fáil's Cynthia Ní Mhurchú has told RedFM news the timing couldn't be better, as today is her birthday.

"I couldn't. It's magnificent. I am going to celebrate like there's no tomorrow. The celebrations won't last a day. they last many, many days"

Meanwhile, the final seats in the Midlands-North-West constituency have been filled

Five candidates were elected following a five-day marathon count, which concluded at 3.30 am in the TF Royal in Castlebar.

The election of Independent Luke 'Ming' Flanagan on the 20th count last night was followed by that of Fianna Fáil's Barry Cowen, just after 1.30am.

Fine Gael’s Nina Carberry and Maria Walsh, along with Independent Ireland’s Ciaran Mullooly were subsequently all deemed elected in the early hours.

Share this article

Read more about

Billy Kelleher Ciaran Mullooly Cynthia Ní Mhurchú Ireland South Kathleen Funchion Luke Ming Flanagan MEP Maria Walsh Michael McNamara Midlands-North West NIna Carberry Sean Kelly

You might like