Munster Team Named For Northam...


Munster Team Named For Northampton Clash

RedFM Sport
RedFM Sport

01:56 13 Jan 2023

Share this article

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s Champions Cup clash against Northampton Saints at Thomond Park (3.15pm).


There are nine personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that secured a bonus-point win over Lions at Musgrave Park on Friday night. Roman Salanoa keeps his place at tighthead and makes his first Champions Cup start.


Joey Carbery, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Antoine Frisch and Calvin Nash come into the backline.


Casey and Carbery renew their half-back partnership with Crowley and Frisch starting together in the centres for the third time this season.


Winger Nash joins Shane Daly and full-back Mike Haley in the back three.


Captain Peter O’Mahony, Tadhg Beirne, Dave Kilcoyne and Niall Scannell start in the pack with Gavin Coombes moving from the second row to no.8.


Kilcoyne and Scannell join Salanoa in the front row with Beirne and Jean Kleyn in the engine room.


Jack O’Donoghue continues his record of playing in every game so far this season with O’Mahony and Gavin Coombes completing the back row.


Versatile winger Liam Coombes is in line to make his Champions Cup debut off the bench. The Skibbereen man was a try-scorer against Lions on his return from injury at Musgrave Park last week.


Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Jack Crowley, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Roman Salanoa; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony (C), Gavin Coombes.


Replacements: Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley, John Ryan, John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes.

Share this article

Read more about

Heineken Champions Cup Munster Redfm Sport Rugby Sport

You might like