Ireland name team to face Roma...


Ireland name team to face Romania

RedFM News
RedFM News

01:00 7 Sep 2023

Share this article

Ireland have named their matchday squad to face Romania in their World Cup opener on Saturday.

As expected, Jonathan Sexton starts at out half, as the captain returns to action following a three game ban. He's partnered in the half backs by Jamieson Gibson Park.

Joe McCarthy starts in the second row alongside James Ryan so Tadhg Beirne's named in the back row.

Munster's Keith Earls, Tadhg Beirne and Peter O'Mahony are all in the 15, with Jeremy Loughman, Conor Murray and Jack Crowley among the replacements.


15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD)(31)
14. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster)(100)
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD)(52)
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians)(47)
11. James Lowe (Leinster)(21)
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College)(captain)(113)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster)(26)
1. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD)(54)
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch)(37)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf)(67)
4. Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University)(3)
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD)(55)
6. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne)(41)
7. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution)(96)
8. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College)(31)

16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne)(21)
17. Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen)(3)
18. Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch)(11)
19. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy)(74)
20. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD)(52)
21. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen)(107)
22. Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution)(6)
23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers)(65)

Share this article

You might like