Tipperary crowned All Ireland Champions

Tipperary are the All-Ireland senior hurling champions for a 28th time.

The Premier County defeated Kilkenny by 3-25 to 20 points at Croke Park. 

The turning point of the game was the sending off of Kilkenny forward Richie Hogan for a high challenge on Tipperary's Cathal Barrett just before half time. 

A Niall O'Meara goal had Tipperary a point up at half time, but they ran riot in the second half, with captain Seamus Callanan and John O'Dwyer finding the net. 

Blue and gold manager Liam Sheedy has guided his players to glory in the first season of his second spell in charge.

Brian Cody wasn't sure the red card decision was correct.  

Galway meanwhile have won a hat-trick of minor titles, as they saw off Kilkenny by 3-14 to 12 points.

Sean MacDonagh hit 2-8 in the victory.

More from Sport