Sexton, Murray and Ryan out of France clash

Andy Farrell has named his Ireland team to face France in Sunday's Six Nations clash.

Johnny Sexton and James Ryan miss out after picking up head injuries in the defeat to Wales and haven't hit all their markers in the return to play protocols.

They're replaced by Billy Burns at 10 and Iain Henderson in the second row, who captains the side.

Conor Murray misses out with a hamstring strain and is replaced by Jamison Gibson Park at scrum half.

Rhys Ruddock meanwhile comes in for the suspended Peter O'Mahony, while Munster scrum half Craig casey could be in line for a first senior cap off the bench.

The starting 15 in full is:

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 7 caps

14. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 89 caps

13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 31 caps

12. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 48 caps

11. James Lowe (Leinster) 3 caps

10. Billy Burns (Ulster) 4 caps

9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 6 caps

1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 105 caps

2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 17 caps

3. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 33 caps

4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 18 caps 

5. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 59 caps CAPTAIN

6. Rhys Ruddock (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 26 caps

7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 29 caps

8. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 47 caps



16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 7 caps

17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 3 caps 

18. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 45 caps

19. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 17 caps

20. Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps

21. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) uncapped

22. Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 11 caps

23. Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 25 caps

More from Sport