Ireland squad named for Six Nations

Munster's Craig Casey has been included in the 36 player squad for the upcoming Six Nations.

The uncapped scrum half has been named in the Ireland squad for the first time, after training with the senior set up last year. 

In all 10 Munster players are included; Casey, Andrew Conway, Shane Daly, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Conor Murray, Tadhg Beirne, Dave Kilkoyne, Peter O'Mahony and CJ Stander.

Leinster out half Jonathan Sexton captains the side in the Six Nations for the second time, although there are concerns about the hamstring injury which forced him off in the second half of Leinster's win over Munster on Saturday.

Ireland kick off their campaign away to Wales on February 7th.

Ireland Squad 2021 Guinness 6 Nations Championships

Backs (17)

Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 30 caps

Billy Burns (Ulster) 3 caps

Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 11 caps

Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) uncapped

Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 24 caps

Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Con) 1 cap

Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 88 caps

Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 14 caps

Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 5 caps

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 47 caps

Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps

Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 24 caps

James Lowe (Leinster) 2 caps

Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 4 caps

Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 87 caps

Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 30 caps

Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 95 caps CAPTAIN


Forwards (19)

Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 17 caps

Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) 5 caps

Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 7 caps

Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 17 caps

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 25 caps

Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 104 caps

Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 5 caps

Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 58 caps

Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 16 caps

Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 6 caps

Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 39 caps

Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 73 caps

Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Banbridge) uncapped

Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 32 caps

Quinn Roux (Connacht/Galwegians) 16 caps

Rhys Ruddock (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 26 caps

James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 32 caps

CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 46 caps

Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 28 caps


Ireland 2021 Guinness Six Nations Fixtures


Principality Stadium, Cardiff 

Sunday 7th February, KO 15.00



IRELAND v France

Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Sunday 14th February, KO 15.00




Stadio Olimpico, Rome

Saturday 27th February, KO 14.15



Scotland v IRELAND

BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh

Sunday 14th March, KO 15.00



IRELAND v England

Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Saturday 20th March, KO 16.45


More from Sport