Football All Stars announced

2020 All Ireland champions Dublin have dominated the list for the PWC 2020 All Stars.

The Dubs have a record equalling NINE players picking up awards - the last time Dublin had nine All Stars was back in 1977.

Ulster champions Cavan have three players included, the Breffni county previously just had two in the 50 years of the All Stars.

There is another notable first for Tipperary captain Conor Sweeney who is acknowledged for his prolific role in leading Tipperary to their first Munster win since 1935 with selection as a PwC All-Star in the full forward line.

PwC All-Stars Football 2020 

(previous years selected in brackets) 


1. Raymond Galligan (Cavan) 


2. Oisín Mullin (Mayo) 

3. Padraig Faulkner (Cavan) 

4. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) (2017, ’19) 

5. James McCarthy (Dublin) (2014, ’17, ’18) 

6. John Small (Dublin) 

7. Eoin Murchan (Dublin) 


8. Brian Fenton (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18, ’19) 

9. Thomas Galligan (Cavan) 


10. Niall Scully (Dublin) 

11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18) 

12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin) (2017, ’19) 

13. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) (2014) 

14. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary) 

15. Dean Rock (Dublin) (2016, ’17)

Uachtarán CLG John Horan said: “I’d like to extend the warmest congratulations to all of those players who have been selected and know it is an honour that will mean a lot to them, their families and the clubs and communities who they represent so well. These awards have stood the test of time as something truly special, and I want to acknowledge PwC for their support and helping ensure that after the achievement that was getting the 2020 Championships played that we can acknowledge all of our players who made it possible and salute the cream of the crop.” 

Paul Flynn, GPA CEO said: “I know what a great honour it is to be selected as a PwC All-Star and all 15 players should be very proud of their achievements. Individually they were the best of the best in 2020. I also want to congratulate all the nominees who were shortlisted.” 

Feargal O’Rourke, Managing Partner, PwC, said: “All of us at PwC extend our sincerest congratulations to the 15 outstanding players that have been selected for the 2020 PwC All Star football team. While 2020 was different from anything we have ever experienced before, these players showed resilience and adaptability to shine for their counties and gave the country so much to cheer about. These are individual awards, but, achieved as part of a team and it’s important to note that all of the winners are true team players. No doubt their minds have already turned to the 2021 season and we wish them all the best for the campaign ahead.

More from Sport