Cork have 7 named on u20 Team of the Year

Keith Ricken was also named Munster and Overall Manager of the year.

EirGrid, sponsor of the U20 All-Ireland Football Championship, has revealed the ‘EirGrid 20 U20 Awards’ the top 20 players of this year’s competition.

Cork have 7 players named on the team including Josh O’Keeffe, Paul Ring, Peter O’Driscoll, Maurice Shanley, Brian Hartnett, Cathal O’Mahony and Mark Cronin.

Cork, who won their 12th U20 (formerly U21) title, and first since 2009, when they overturned a seven-point deficit in the second half against Dublin.

Keith Ricken, who masterminded Cork’s emphatic comeback against Dublin in the All Ireland final, was named Munster and the overall EirGrid U20 Manager of the Year.

GAA President, John Horan said;
“My congratulations to all of those who have been named on this prestigious list and to the families and clubs who they proudly represent.

"The EirGrid 20 U20 awards acknowledges the fact that a full panel of players is needed to be successful and is reflected in the fact that players from six different counties are included here in recognition of their excellence over the course of another high quality EirGrid U20 Championship. "These players are following a well-worn and proven pathway in making the step from underage to senior status and football's rich history shows how these competitions help nurture and develop the senior stars of tomorrow."

Valerie Hedin, External Communications Manager at EirGrid commented;

“We are delighted to honour the top 20 performers of the EirGrid GAA Football U20 All-Ireland Championship and extend our congratulations to Dublin’s Ciaran Archer who has been awarded the EirGrid U20 Player of the Year. From what we saw of Ciaran in this year’s championship he has a bright future ahead of him in the blue of Dublin. Our recognition of the championship’s top performers has this year extended to those that manage and develop the current U20 teams and prepare them for the future both on and off the pitch. Cork’s Keith Ricken impressed with his stewardship over his young side and was named EirGrid Manager of the Year. It is great to be able to recognise and award the talent and character displayed by these young men in a competition that nurtures and develops the stars of tomorrow. Well done to all our winners and thank you for making the EirGrid GAA Football U20 All-Ireland Championship such an outstanding competition.”

The team in full;

EirGrid 20 U20’s


1. Josh O'Keeffe (Cork)

2. Oran Burke (Galway)



3. Paul Ring (Cork)

4. Peter O'Driscoll (Cork)

5. Maurice Shanley (Cork)

6. Kieran Kennedy (Dublin)

7. Oisin Mullin (Mayo)

8. Conal Grimes (Tyrone)

9. Conor Quinn (Tyrone)



10. Brian Hartnett (Cork)

11. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne (Dublin)

12. Matthias Bairead (Galway)



13. Cathal O'Mahony (Cork)

14. Mark Cronin (Cork)

15. Ciaran Archer (Dublin)

16. James Doran (Dublin)

17. Liam Costello (Galway)

18. Darragh Canavan (Tyrone)

19. Sean Óg McAleer (Tyrone)

20. Diarmuid Whelan (Laois)

More from Sport