Four All Star nominations for...


Four All Star nominations for Cork

RedFM News
RedFM News

07:40 28 Sep 2023

Share this article

Cork have received four nominations for this year's PWC GAA/GPA All Stars.

They are Ciaran Joyce, Damian Cahalane, Darragh Fitzgibbon and Patrick Horgan

The All Ireland champions Limerick lead the way with 14 nominations.

Cork's Ciaran Joyce meanwhile is in the running for young player of the year, along with Mark Rodgers and Adam Hogan of Clare.

Limerick's Aaron Gillane, Kyle Hayes and Diarmuid Byrnes have been nominated for the senior Hurler of the Year award.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “Congratulations to all our players who have been nominated for a PwC Hurling All-Star Award. Hurling’s exceptional standards were well maintained during a memorable 2023 season, and this magnificent collection of players were central to those standards and the excitement they provided.

"The awards pay tribute to the best of a fantastic cohort of players who we are fortunate to have playing our games. A special word of recognition for Kyle, Aaron and Diarmaid and to Adam, Mark and Ciarán for being shortlisted for overall awards – a fantastic additional honour for you and your families and clubs. Our thanks to PwC for their continuing support of this iconic scheme.”

The 45 nominations feature a county-by-county breakdown of Limerick 14, Clare 9, Kilkenny 8, Galway 6, Cork 4, Tipperary 3 and one representative from Dublin, sharpshooter Dónal Burke.

The list in full is:

Goalkeepers (3)

Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Eibhear Quilligan (Clare)

Defenders (18)

Barry Nash (Limerick)

Mike Casey (Limerick)

Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)

Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)

Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)

Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)

David Blanchfield (Kilkenny)

John Conlon (Clare)

Adam Hogan (Clare)

Diarmuid Ryan (Clare)

David McInerney (Clare)

Ciarán Joyce (Cork)

Damien Cahalane (Cork)

Jack Grealish (Galway)

Daithí Burke (Galway)

Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

Midfielders (6)

Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick)

Will O’Donoghue (Limerick)

Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

David Fitzgerald (Clare)

Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)

Forwards (18)

Cian Lynch (Limerick)

Peter Casey (Limerick)

Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

Seamus Flanagan (Limerick)

David Reidy (Limerick)

Cathal Mannion (Galway)

Conor Whelan (Galway)

Brian Concannon (Galway)

Evan Niland (Galway)

Tony Kelly (Clare)

Shane O’Donnell (Clare)

Mark Rodgers (Clare)

TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

Jake Morris (Tipperary)

Dónal Burke (Dublin)

Patrick Horgan (Cork)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees

Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, Diarmaid Byrnes (all Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees

Adam Hogan (Clare), Mark Rodgers (Clare), Ciaran Joyce (Cork)

Share this article

You might like