Met Éireann extends snow-ice w...


Met Éireann extends snow-ice warning for 14 counties

Kellie Murphy
Kellie Murphy

01:57 1 Mar 2024

Share this article

Met Éireann has extended its snow-ice warning for 14 counties.

The alert covers all of Munster and 8 other counties including Carlow, Dublin, Kildare,and Kilkenny, until six o'clock this evening.

A nationwide ice warning meanwhile is in place until nine o'clock tomorrow morning.

Accumulations of sleet and snow are forecast leading to poor visibility and hazardous travelling conditions, with disruption to public transport also expected.

Forecasting Services Manager at Met Eireann, Alan Hally, denies claims the forecaster wasn't ready for snow:

"No it was included in our forecast that went out on our website yesterday, we also had a warning out yesterday that mentions that transition,  so it was a rainfall warning with the potential to turn to sleet and snow. Because it is a marginal situation, it's already turning to rainfall outside of our headquarters in Glasnevin for example."

Share this article

You might like